Monday, June 1, 2009

Cambodian Peoples’ Party Wins in Council Elections


The Cambodian Peoples’ Party (CPP) has clear majorities in the Council Elections 2009 for Cities, Khans, Districts and Provinces, according to Tep Nytha, Secretary-General of the National Election Committee (NEC). The results were announced on May 27.

The Council Elections were held on May 17, and the ruling Cambodian Peoples’ Party has won the leadership positions in all councils.

“I am happy with the conduct of the Council Elections. Even though this is the first time we have organized such elections, they were free, fair, credible and successful,” Nytha said during a telephone interview with The Southeast Asia Weekly.

Nytha said the Cambodian peoples’ Party won 302 of 374 seats in Phnom Penh and provinces as well as 2,249 seats in municipalities and districts. The Sam Rainsy Party won 61 seats in cities and 518 seats in provinces. The FUNCINPEC Party won six seats in cities and provinces, and 55 seats in municipalities and districts while the Norodom Ranariddh Party won five seats in cities and provinces, and 39 seats in municipalities and districts.

“The NEC has worked hard, guided by a great election strategy and ample preparation,” said Nytha. He added that the successful outcome was also a product of the peoples’ desire to make their wishes known.

Referring to the electorate, Nytha said there were 11,353 commune council members from the Cambodian Peoples’ Party, the Sam Rainsy Party, the Norodom Ranariddh Party and the FUNCINPEC Party. They all voted for 3,235 council member seats at the municipal, provincial and district levels.

Nytha emphasized that according to Election Law the new council members who won seats during this election will go on to fill them two weeks after the announcement of official results. He said future democratic activities are planned for Commune Elections and the selection of representatives for the Senate in 2012.

So far, the NEC has been successful in organizing seven important elections in Cambodia - three elections to the National Assembly, two elections to the Commune Council, one election to the Senate, and one Council Election for Cities, Khans, Districts and Provinces, according to Nytha. ////

No comments: